top of page

city council

The governing body consists of a mayor and a five-person council.  

Towanda residents elect the members of the governing body to four-year terms.  

City elections are non-partisan, meaning candidates do not run as members of a particular political party.  Individual party affiliations are not relevant to their positions within the governing body.

The mayor presides at the city council meetings held at 7:00 p.m. on the second Wednesday

of each month.  Meetings are open to the public and held at City Hall. 

City council work sessions and special meetings may be called as needed and are also open to the public.

Governing Body Members

Jennifer Shaults

Mike Hayes
Council President

Chris Hunt
Council Member

Kendall Pierce
Council Member

Bill Wolf
Council Member
Jeff Banks
Council Member

*Outside of election-times, vacant council seats are filled by city council's approval of a mayoral recommendation. For more information, contact City Hall.
bottom of page